Everyone is Right

Another one of those ‘not quite sure what I’m saying posts’ but here goes:

So, you’ve got more religions than you can shake a stick at.  The Christians, the Mormons, the Buddhists, the Muslims, the Catholics, etc. etc.  They all, presumably, believe that their religion is ‘right’.   But, each religions definition of ‘right’ is different from the next.   How can they all be right?  They can’t, can they?  Well, they can be right, if you believe it to be right.  It can be ‘right’ from where you’re standing.

To me, different religions provide a great example of the observation that Everyone is Right.  The world that I/someone else see and experience is based entirely on what I/someone else believes to be correct.

So, the colour of the wall in the pub.  It’s blue. I like the colour, but the person I’m with doesn’t.  It’s the same colour, but I bring my own bias and personality to the pub; to the wall.  Previous experience and taste means that whilst everyone can agree that the wall is blue, everyone’s opinion about the colour is different.  That difference is based on who we are as individuals.

Continuing on the pub tip, say my friend and I get talking to someone neither of us has met before.  After they’ve left, I say I didn’t like them and my friend they said they did.  But we both had the same conversation.  Again, our personalities and history determine whether or not we enjoyed the strangers company or not.  They could have gone on to a friend for my friend but not for me.  The stranger was the same person, but we experience them differently.  Again, our experience of the experience is determined by our different, individual personalities.

I can continue on like this for hours, but the point is that ones entire experience of reality is based entirely on ones personality.  There are the facts – that the wall is blue, but everyone’s experience of that blue wall is determined by who they are and because everyone is different everyone’s experience of the wall, of a meeting, of a TV programme of a conversation is different, created in their heads based on their history.

When a deviation in explanation of the same event occurs between two people then that’s due to a difference in personality and personal upbringing and beliefs.  In this, everyone believes that they’re ‘right’.  But they’re only ‘right’ to themselves based on their upbringing and experience.  They are no more ‘right’ than the next person who has a different upbringing and experience (although most people believe that they’re more ‘right’ than the next person of course!).

So, there is no objective ‘right’.  Instead everyone has their own version of what they believe to be right.

For the power hungry, the task is convince as many other people as possible to believe your version of what you believe to be ‘right’.  (America (used to) do a very good job here)

So, why is this at all interesting?  Not sure really, other than to realise that what I see and believe to be true and the way that the world works – what I believe to be ‘right’ – is merely a reflection of who I am rather than actually the way the world works.  And that no-one else is ‘right’ either – they’re just coming from where they are as well.

Of course this view is, to me ‘right’, but then it’s bought to you by my personality so I would say that, wouldn’t I?!

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Everyone is Right

  1. John H says:

    Ah the old ego battles Jonathan – It’s a different ball game at the level of the authentic self. Isn’t freewill / the power to choose, brilliant?

    • Ah ha, you’re right of course.
      My phrase of the week is that ‘freedom of choice (in a consumerist sense) is not freedom’. Because you’re still a consumer and in our society you have no freedom as to whether you are or not.
      Looking forward to some more brain=melting next week.
      See you then.
      Jonathan

  2. yeni1anlam says:

    I was thinking about that lately as well. Coming from a country in which majority practice Muslim religion (some less some more) and living in Europe made me observe that very clearly. How I perceive muslim religion and how majority of Europeans are perceiving quite different. There comes the critical point. Who is perceived as the dominant in the world or in one context? I think the dominat defines what is going to be perceived as normal, right and the others are not so normal or ‘right’.
    I like your article.
    Ps. For ex i learned that black cat percevied as good luck in England, but in Turkey it is the symbol of bad luck. But black cat is black cat.:)

    • Hi there and thanks for your comment.
      Yes, he who defines ‘what is right’ has the power. That’s why I think Hollywood is so interesting. Because the movies they produce, which are seen all over the world, are very good at promoting America as the saviour of the world. I watched Independence Day again recently. If you view it through that lens, then at the end, the world gets to celebrate a global ‘Independence Day’ because the USA saves the world. Again. It’s about pushing American values and ideals out.
      Sorry I can’t read Turkish on your blog (it is Turkish?!), but I do like your photos, especially the seasonal ones. I saw some photos of birds on a bird feeder outside a kitchen window once where the trees went through the seasonal changes. Very beautiful. Oh, I also see you’re into Hardin Tibbs. He came and spoke on my Masters last year. I can send you some of his charts if you like?
      Cheers
      Jonathan

      • yeni1anlam says:

        Yes, it is in Turkish. I see that I can express myself better in the language I use when I am thinking. I do agree with Hollywood also. I try to watch other cultures films nowadays.
        The season started to inspire me a lot. I took those pictures at the park that i run often. Thinking of seasons makes me calm.
        If you share Hardin Tipp’s charts, i would be happy. I like his communication style. About emotional subjects in a grounded style.
        Cheers
        Sanem

  3. yeni1anlam says:

    Ps. I have written my last post just now with the inspiration of your post,

  4. Ailsa says:

    It is an interesting thought. There is no objective ‘right’. Even within the world religions there are people who claim to have their faith more ‘right’ than others. But can truth be objective? Is truth not just truth?

Leave a Reply

